Hawthorn Junior Magic Coaching Announcement

Basketball Hawthorn is pleased to announce our 2019/20 VJBL First Team Head Coaches for the Hawthorn Junior Magic representative program.


BOYS                                                              GIRLS

12.1 Chris Garner                                         12.1 Michelle Brogan

14.1 Chris Hastings                                      14.1 Michael Dimattina

16.1 Dion Jewell                                           16.1 Tom Maher

18.1 Shawn King                                           18.1 Scott Delzoppo


“We are extremely happy to be able to announce the quality of coaches to lead our First Teams in Season 2019/20. With a great mix of experience and progression we feel we are in great shape moving forward for the long-term development of our Junior Athletes”, said Basketball Hawthorn’s Head of Basketball, Dion Jewell.

Along with Dion as Head of Basketball, Michael Dimattina and Shawn King will continue in their roles as Director of Coaching of the Girls and Boys programs respectively.  “It’s very exciting to come into a well-established program that both Michael and Shawn have played a major role in establishing.  I’m looking forward to seeing what we can achieve in the future together as we move the program forward”, Jewell said.

Basketball Hawthorn would like to congratulate the coaches on their appointments and thank them for their commitment to Hawthorn Junior Magic.  Further coaching announcements will be made in due course.